What Is Your Major?

Once you begin your junior year of high school most begin to think about college. Although picking your college is difficult (blog post 1) picking what your major is even more problematic. Why? Because picking your major is ultimately indicating what you are doing for your life! It is unbelievable to think that many people in college choose their major as juniors or seniors in high school. At that young age you are selecting what you want to do in life?! Yes, many people change their major during college, which is a hassle, but it is a vital part of your life! With hundreds of majors out there how do you know which one is for you? You must ask yourself what do you enjoy in life the most? Is it helping people? Is it cars? Is it video games? Science? Or is it inventing something? Throughout high school I was always into cars and business. So my dream was to own my own exotic car dealership. I ended up majoring in general business because I enjoyed all areas of business. With this major I can ultimately own my car dealership if wanted to. Now that I am a senior in college do I still want that exotic car dealership? No, but I wouldn’t mind owning one! The point I am bringing across is that choosing a major is a very important detail in your life. It takes years to discover what you truly want to do and it takes college time to understand who you are. Many students just pick a major to pick and get it over with. Take time because that major that you “just picked” costs around or more than $100,000. The best way to determine your major is by first picking your likes and dislikes. (Those likes that will change over the year can be dismissed!) Next you will want to picture who you are in the future and what you want! These are some great points I wish I had focused on when I was younger.

Leave a Reply

